Wii U: Possibly Friendly for Used Games

In my internet adventures today, my friend shared an article about the Wii U stating that Nintendo will not be including any measures to prevent gamers from playing pre-owned games!

Whoa.

I mean whoa.

Seriously.

Whoa.

Anyway, the reason why I am so excited about this is because I think that other developers should take a page from Nintendo’s book on this one. For example, it has been rumored that Sony’s next-generation console, “Orbis,” will not offer backwards compatibility and will be using anti-preowned measures. This means that if you want something different, you will have to pay full price every time. Personally, that is just wrong and unrealistic.

Trading games is part of gaming culture and as long as they’re playing their traded games on YOUR console, I don’t see what the big deal is.

Image

Now I have heard the argument that this is a ploy to ensure that more profits from games go to the developers and in the spirit of capitalism I am all for that. On the other hand if you want to make gaming more accessible to more people then you need to stop making everything so freaking expensive! I wanted to buy a new game the other day and I couldn’t because I chose a week’s worth of grocery money over the game. It was $70. That’s a lot of money.

Make it less expensive and maybe people will be less willing to buy used games. I know I would. Frankly, I want to be able to eat AND play video games. Remember:

Soda + Doritos = Gamer Breakfast of Champions

Leave a Reply

